You haven't been trained
until you've been AusTrained

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) & how do I apply?

RPL is a form of assessment that acknowledges skills and knowledge gained through:

  • Formal training conducted by industry or education
  • Work experience
  • Life experience

The main principle of RPL focuses on the outcomes rather than when or where the learning occurred. Evidence of competency is collected by the applicant and submitted to the nominated assessor and assessment is made based on the required industry standard within the relevant training package unit of competency.

For more information and details on how to apply, please download our RPL Information Kit.

2. When will my RSA and RCG Certificates Expire?

Staff with old-style paper certificates (issued prior to 22 August 2011)

Old-style paper certificates are being phased out in stages until mid 2016.

Staff must not work with an expired certificate.

RSA & RCG Paper Certificate Issued Expiry Date
Up to and including 31 Dec 2008 Expired
1 Jan 2009 – 31 Dec 2009 30 Jun 2015
1 Jan 2010 – 21 Aug 2011 30 Jun 2016

Photo competency cards expire 5 years after the completion of the first course which was completed. If other courses are completed at a later date, the competency class can be added to the card and the card can be reissued, but the expiry date will remain the same.

Example: You complete an RSA course on 1 August 2013, and obtain a photo competency card. The expiry date will be 1 August 2018. Later you want to work in a Hotel and your duties will involve gaming machines (pokies), so you complete an RCG course on 30 June 2014. You will need to complete an Additional Competency Endorsement Form (form CC0570) to get a new photo competency card mailed to you. The new card will show that you have both RSA and RCG competency, however the expiry date will still be 1 August 2018 (5 years after the date you completed the RSA course).

Please click here for more information.

3. What is a Photo Competency Card?

Photo competency cards are plastic cards similar to a NSW drivers licence that indicates which competency certifications have been obtained.

Please click here for more information.

4. Can the Academy Provide Group Training Sessions on Site at my Business?

Yes, however minimum numbers will apply. Click here to contact us for further information.

5. Am i required to have an FSS Certificate?

Why is a Food Safety Supervisor important?

Food laws in NSW require certain food businesses in the hospitality and retail food service sector to appoint at least one trained FSS.

The aim of an FSS is to prevent individuals from becoming ill from food poisoning as a result of incorrect handling and preparation of food. St

Statistics show that incorrect food handling practices in retail food businesses account for more than one-third of foodborne illness outbreaks in NSW, costing the community hundreds of millions of dollars each year in healthcare and lost revenue.

Appointing an FSS gives food businesses a better level of onsite protection for food safety, and gives consumers peace-of-mind when dining out or buying food in NSW.

Who needs a Food Safety Supervisor?

The FSS requirements apply to businesses that process and sell food at the retail level, eg food that is:

  • ready-to-eat,
  • potentially hazardous (requires temperature control), and
  • not sold and served in the supplier’s original packaging.

These businesses include:

  • Restaurants
  • Cafés
  • Takeaway shops
  • Caterers (eg process and serve food at one fixed location)
  • Mobile caterers (eg process and transport food to more than one location)
  • Bakeries
  • Pubs
  • Clubs
  • Hotels
  • Temporary premises (eg food market stalls)
  • Mobile food vendors (eg process and sell food from a van)
  • Supermarket hot food sales (eg hot chicken)

Certain food businesses do not require an FSS. See the Food Authority’s website for details.